"My story..."

I was raised in Wilton, Connecticut, and have lived in the state of Washington since 1981. In a media career spanning 40 years, I have reported and anchored sportscasts from Connecticut to Indiana and, most recently, here in Seattle, Washington. After beginning at KOMO-4, I served as sports director at KING-5 and KIRO-7 for a combined 25 years. More recently I was the online host for the Seattle Seahawks. Throughout my journey, I have seen firsthand what makes a productive team member, what makes a close-knit team, and what makes a team a champion.
(Photo by Jane Gershovich, 2016)

(Photo by Jane Gershovich, 2016)

We all inhabit this planet.
We all breathe the same air, we all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.
— John F. Kennedy
I'm growing tomatoes and lettuce in my back yard in memory of my Dad. His garden was bigger than my entire yard. He gave away produce to his neighbors for decades.

I'm growing tomatoes and lettuce in my back yard in memory of my Dad. His garden was bigger than my entire yard. He gave away produce to his neighbors for decades.

 

While some of you may know me from my Wrestling Hold of the Week segments or from being a fellow volunteer in the community, others may recognize me from community theater acting or keynote speeches promoting living a positive and productive life.

What you may not know is that I was a business owner. I was a barber, a janitor, and a newspaper writer. I served in the Army. I'm an avid runner and a notorious whiffle baller, devoted to physical and mental fitness. I'm a proud father, a prouder grandfather, and have been married to my loving wife Mika for more than 25 years.

I'm proud to be a Washingtonian and I feel I have an obligation, a responsibility, to use my team-building skills and make the place we live better, not just for my children and grandchildren, but for all.


Speaker references

Stephanie Hemphill- Association of Washington Businesses. Stephanieh@awb.org

Vicki Hanson-Kitsap County Division on Aging & Long Term Care vhanson@co.kitsap.wa.us

Tom Hill- Approach Management Services thill@approachms.com

Louis Bartol-Valley Regional Fire Authority Louise.bartol@vrfa.org

Cindy Burke-Washington Attorney General’s Office CindyB4@ATG.WA.GOV

Sharon Mast- 425 891-6066

Maria Trunkenbolz mariat@my180.net

Randy Ohlendorf- Newcastle Chamber of Commerce Randall.ohlendorf@gmail.com

Marvin Charles marvinpastor@msn.com

Dan Sims dansims@simshonda.com